Minnesota Motor Co - Fergus Falls, MN
PrepGIANT.com NetworkMinnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Coach Login
Tournament Brackets | CraigOlsonSports | PheasantCountry |
Need Faster Internet? Click Here! Shoremaster Minnesota State Community and Technical College
CraigOlsonSports.com... Your Area Sports Wrap!Taco John's
Lake Region Healthcare Cline Jensen P.A.
Print this Story
Print this Story
Email this Story
Battle Lake School
Battle Lake Golf (B)
Breckenridge School
Breckenridge Golf (B)
Henning School
Henning Golf (B)
Hillcrest Lutheran Academy School
Hillcrest Lutheran Academy Golf (B)
Rothsay School
Rothsay Golf (B)
Underwood School
Underwood Golf (B)

Thursday, May 31, 2018
Golf (B)

Bulldogs Win Section 6A Boys Golf Title

By Craig Olson - Perham, MN

The Ottertail Central boys golf team has captured the Section 6A title with a winning score of 684 over two days of play at Perham Lakeside Golf Course. Pine River-Backus was runner-up with a 695, followed by Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Laporte (715) and Pelican Rapids (723). 

Members of the winning Bulldogs team are Jackson Nyhus (166), Noah Chase (168), Drew Young (169), Parker Fraki (183), Carter Dilly (193) and Nick Miller (197). 

Brady Raph (143) of Pine River-Backus claimed medalist honors and Alex Iverson (158) of Park Christian School was runner-up. Finishing third was Mason Schneider (163) of Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Laporte. Brothers John Vall (165) and Mike Vall (168) of Hillcrest Lutheran Academy round out the individual state qualifiers. 

Here are the scores of the other golfers who qualified for both days of the tournament by team: 

Frazee – Henry Kellerhuis (169)

Pine River-Backus – Keenan Dahl (173), Tyler DeGrote (178), Brady Bristow (201), Ethan Tulenchik (278)

Underwood – Trevor Swonger (173), Canaan Kugler (187)

Pelican Rapids – Logan Petznick (174), Joe Stetz (183), Kirby Nelson (196), Noah Kapenga (202), Levi Johnson (224)

Park Christian – Alex Deringer (175), Ashton Payne (180)

Lake Park-Audubon – Tyler Svare (176) Walker-Hackensack-Akeley – Rece Wiedmann (179), Trevor Johnson (186), Tanner Schneider (187), Hogan Johnson (200), Logan Vikre (200)

Hillcrest Lutheran Academy – Joel Quam (183) Rothsay – Wyatt Curtis (203) Breckenridge – Carson Hought (204) 

“We have a very young team and I was proud of the way they played the past two days,” said Underwood Head Coach Chuck Ross.  “They showed a lot of potential and the future looks pretty good with this group if they continue to practice and play throughout this summer.  Trevor Swonger (173) had a strong two days and just missed qualifying for state by 4 strokes. Canaan Kugler (187) qualified for day two and played well all season.  Logan Frigaard (97), Logan Johansen (106), Braden Thorson (109), and Bryce Jorgenson (133) got much better as the season progressed and have shown that they have a lot of promise. We are definitely looking forward to next year as they gained a lot of experience this season.”



Minnesota Motor Co.
1998-2019 CraigOlsonSports.com and MWSPN.com - Powered by MNSOnet at net.minnesotasportsonline.com