Minnesota Motor Co - Fergus Falls, MN
PrepGIANT.com NetworkMinnesota-Scores | NorthDakota-Scores | Report Score | Coach Login
Tournament Brackets | CraigOlsonSports | PheasantCountry |
Need Faster Internet? Click Here! Shoremaster Minnesota State Community and Technical College
CraigOlsonSports.com... Your Area Sports Wrap!Otter Express
Lake Region Healthcare Cline Jensen P.A.
Print this Story
Print this Story
Email this Story
Ashby School
Ashby Wrestling
Battle Lake School
Battle Lake Wrestling
Brandon/Evansville School
Brandon/Evansville Wrestling
Fergus Falls School
Fergus Falls Wrestling
Henning School
Henning Wrestling
Pelican Rapids School
Pelican Rapids Wrestling
West Central Area School
West Central Area Wrestling

Sunday, December 10, 2017

OTC Wrestlers Edge Out Knights at Grant County Invite

By Craig Olson - Barrett, MN

Jordan Lohse turns Blaine Fischer (BBE) for the pin.  PHOTO by TAMMIE OLSON PHOTOGRAPHY

The Ottertail Central Bulldogs captured first place at the Grant County Invitational on Saturday, scoring 195 points to finish just one point ahead of West Central Area/Ashby/Brandon-Evansville with 194. Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa was third (159), followed by Dawson Boyd-Lac qui Parle Valley (150), Alexandria (126), Morris Area/Hancock/Chokio-Alberta (106) Border West (72), Pelican Rapids (61.5) and Fergus Falls (36). 

“Overall, we put together a pretty good day of wrestling,” said Knights Head Coach Brandon Gruchow.  “Anytime you can put five wrestlers into the finals and place 13 out of the 14 weight classes you know some things are going well.  This was a solid tournament with some very good teams.  However, taking second place in a tournament and knowing that you lost by a point gets everyone looking back into their matches and they start to realize how easy it would have been to win the tournament.  It's a great learning lesson this early in the year.  We will learn from it and use it for energy in our upcoming events.  Today's performance is something that we can work off of and I was proud of their efforts.” 

Champion for West Central Area were Jordan Lohse (113), Kaleb Getz (126), Kaden Spindler (160) and Mason Nibbe (220). Levi Larkin (170) was runner-up in his weight class. Third place went to Anthony Sykora (106) and Wyatt Olson (182). Fourth place finishers included John Barber (152), Alex Butcher (195) and Devin Stone (285). Placing fifth was Hunter Hanson (132). Bret Duncan (145) and Aiden Winter (160) both took sixth place for the Knights. 

Ottertail Central had two individual champions, Ben Naddy (120) and Nate Hart (132). Runners-up for OTC were Mark Hendricks (126), Hunter Doll (145), Alex Erlandson (160), Wyatt Thorson (195) and RJ Ehlert (285). Third place finishers were Zane Swanson (152) and Kevin Tierney (195). Placing fourth was Matt Hendricks (145). Fifth place went to Hayden Hart (126), Noah Schleske (170) and Jace Leabo (182). The Bulldogs also had one sixth place finisher, Laredo Bugbee (106). 

Pelican Rapids featured one champion as Carson Haugrud won the title at 182. Matt Ziebell was third at 170. Zane Brosowske was fifth at 160 pounds. Two Vikings were in sixth place, Anthony Reese (113) and Max Dykhoff (152).

106 lb. Anthony Sykora 3-1 3rd Place
defeated Davin Rose (MAHACA) per decision 9-4, defeated by Ryan Borris (Alex) per major decision 12-2, defeated Laredo Bugbee (OTC) per decision 10-6, defeated D. Rose (MAHACA) per technical fall 15-0.

113 lb. #3 Jordan Lohse 2-0 Champion
first round bye, defeated Jeris Lemm (Alex) per decision 5-1, defeated Blaine Fischer (BBE) per fall 1:46.

120 lb. Ruebens Swanson 0-2 DNP
defeated by Mark McCarthy (BW) per fall 1:12, defeated by Kadin Huntley (United) per decision 7-6.

126 lb. Kaleb Getz 3-0 Champion
defeated Hayden Hart (OTC) per decision 5-4, defeated Seth Hubbard (United) per fall 1:39, defeated #9 Marc Hendricks (OTC) per decision 11-8.

132 lb. Hunter Hanson 2-2 5th Place
defeated Ben Travis (MAHACA) per fall 4:33, defeated by #4 Nate Hart (OTC) per fall 2:51, defeated by Derrick Hanson (BW) per decision 8-7, defeated B. Travis (MAHACA) per decision 4-3.

138 lb. Chris Onstad 2-2 5th Place
defeated by Kaden Hartwell (FF) per fall :31, defeated Kade Olson (WCAABE) per decision 5-1, defeated by Keaton Haas (United) per decision 8-6, defeated Mason Zimmel (BW) per fall 2:42.

138 lb. Unattached Kade Olson 0-2 DNP
defeated by #6 Tyler Bents (BBE) per fall 1:11, defeated by Chris Onstad (WCAABE) per decision 5-1.

145 lb. Brett Duncan 1-3 6th Place
defeated Gideon Joos (MAHACA) per decision 10-6, defeated by Hunter Doll (OTC) per fall 1:44, defeated by Layton Wittnebel (United) per fall 1:49, defeated by G. Joos (MAHACA) per decision 5-4.

152 lb. John Barber 2-2 4th Place
defeated Michael Niesen (BW) per major decision 9-0, defeated by #4 Isaiah Gilbert (BBE) per fall 1:32, defeated Colton Wohlers (MAHACA) per fall 1:54, defeated by Zane Swanson (OTC) per decision 4-1.

160 lb. #5 Kaden Spindler 3-0 Champion
defeated Slade Irvine (United) per fall 1:07, defeated Trappier Botz (Alex) per fall 1:09, defeated Alex Erlandson (OTC) per technical fall 17-0.

160 lb. Unattached Aiden Winter 1-2 DNP
defeated by Brady Cardwell (MAHACA) per fall 3:17, defeated Isaac Oliphant (FF) per fall 2:33, defeated by Trappier Botz (Alex) per injury default.

170 lb. #4 Levi Larkin 1-1 2nd Place
first round bye, defeated Matt Ziebell (PR) per overtime decision 9-7, defeated by Chandler Cole (Alex) per decision 1-0.

182 lb. Wyatt Olson 3-1 3rd Place
defeated Titus Chamberlin (Alex) per fall 1:36, defeated by Jason Murphy (BW) per fall 4:29, defeated Jace Leabo (OTC) per decision 4-3, defeated T. Chamberlin (Alex) per fall 2:45.

195 lb. Alex Butcher 2-2 4th Place
defeated Isaac Kampsen (BBE) per fall 1:06, defeated by Wyatt Thorson (OTC) per decision 5-3, defeated Thaniel Cebulla (BBE) per fall 2:49, defeated by Kevin Tierney (OTC) per decision 13-9.

220 lb. #4 Mason Nibbe 2-0 Champion
first round bye, defeated Ramon Lopez-Moen (OTC) per decision 8-1, defeated Gage Wevley (MAHACA) per decision 7-2.

285 lb. Devin Stone 1-2 4th Place
first round bye, defeated by RJ Ehlert (OTC) per fall 2:48, defeated Joe Thompson (BBE) per fall 2:45, defeated by Eric Formo (FF) per decision 13-6.

Minnesota Motor Co.
1998-2018 CraigOlsonSports.com and MWSPN.com - Powered by MNSOnet at net.minnesotasportsonline.com